Annual Reception Thank you 2024
Thank you for attending!

Thanks to all that helped to make last week’s 2024 Annual Reception one to remember!

Members from the 194th to the 285th classes joined us for an unforgettable evening recognizing the accomplishments and achievements of students, faculty, and our alumni.

Highlights from the event include: 

  • Important updates from CHS President Kate Davis (264) and AACHS President, Robert A. Del Femine (235).
  • Approval of the 2024-2025 AACHS Board of Managers slate, led by Past President Neil Deegan (263) and outgoing secretary and Nominations Elections co-chair Marisa Block (265).
  • Inspiring keynote remarks by NBC Sports Anchor and proud Lancer parent, Danny Pommels about the incredible impact that Central High makes on its students and the community at-large.
  • CHS Faculty School Based Teacher Leader (Arts), and Orchestra Director Benjamin Blazer, game poignant remarks on the value that the arts has on the intersections of all disciplines—the impact that can be realized directly in phase two of the Capital Campaign
  • The William M. Disharoon (133) Memorial Award ceremony chaired by Benjamin G. Lipman, Esq. (224) was a wonderful celebration of six students who exemplified the true meaning of what it means to be a Central student. Congratulations to Samantha Sandhaus (283), who was chosen as the senior who exemplifies leadership skills and reflects the Central spirit. Special shout out to the other nominees: Ivan Boyko, Karina Lad, Samantha Stennett, Emily Vu, and James Waskito, as well as the other members of the Disharoon Award Committee: David Birnbaum, Esq., 265, Marisa Block, 265, Karima Bouchenafa, 249, Barry Drossner, Ed.D, 224, Charles Steinberg, 221, and Anu Thomas, Esq., 268.
  • The 1836 Society pinning ceremony honored members who give $1,836 or more annually; three of its newest members were recognized at the event, Nicole Bolt Anderson (251), Stanley Sokolove (225), and Jason Weldon (256). Special musical performances kicked off the event by student musicians: Meredith (Violin), Zhen Yu (Violin), Mandy (Violin), Chiara (Viola), and Nathaniel (Cello).
  • Kudos to the student photographers, Annabel (284), Fion (284), Rachel (284), and Rei (284) on capturing the Annual Reception event!


The Annual Reception serves as a cherished tradition where alumni, faculty, staff, students, and esteemed guests come together to celebrate our rich history and accomplishments.

This year’s gathering provided an opportunity to reconnect, reminisce, and forge new connections.

Be sure to check out future events and we look forward to staying connected with all of you.

As AACHS Archivist and Historian, David Kahn (220) says: “Crimson and Gold Forever!